Learning In and Out of Class

3 Feb

One of my classes offers the opportunity for a service learning experience. With service learning, students can go out into the Rockbridge community and volunteer at a variety of organizations for some sort of course credit. In my case, I get to drop my three lowest reading response grades for health economics. I volunteer for 20 hours over the semester at Yellow Brick Road, a local childcare center. Due to the time I visit, I was told I’ll typically be working with infants. I started volunteering last week, and had a great time.

Whether it’s volunteering in the community or listening to guest speakers, classes at W&L often present students with numerous chances to take learning outside of the classroom and apply it to “the real world.” I like these experiences because it allows me to see that what I’m doing in class is actually meaningful and can help me in the future.

 

- Olivia Davis ’14

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,137 other followers

