Tour Guide Spotlight: Elizabeth Steitz ’14

26 Jan
Elizabeth Steitz '14

Elizabeth Steitz ’14

Hometown: Baton Rouge, LA

Major(s)/Minor(s): Mass Communications

What clubs/activities are you involved in on campus? I am involved with the Fancy Dress Steering Committee, First-Year Leadership Council, Kappa Kappa Gamma Sorority, and Reformed University Fellowship.

How are you involved in the Lexington community? I am a lector for St. Patrick’s Catholic Church.

What are some of your other hobbies/interests? I love to run, cook, make new friends, and read classic novels.

Favorite weekend activity? I love lazy Saturday afternoons spent outside with my friends.

Favorite thing about Lexington? I love the small-town feel of Lexington—it perfectly compliments the close-knit community we have at Washington and Lee. What’s your favorite W&L memory? Homecoming weekend my first year at Washington and Lee. Aside from all of the band parties, delicious food, and fun times it was great to see all of the young alumni come back to visit. I could really see how much they loved and missed Washington and Lee.

What’s the best encounter you’ve had with a faculty or staff member? During orientation week, an evening was reserved for the First-Years to have dinner with their advisors. I rode in a car to my advisor’s house in the country with two other first-years, hoping for the best. The dinner was amazing. We had Salerno’s pasta, Blue Sky carrot cake, and great conversation. After dinner, we took a walk down the road to the most unbelievable view of the Blue Ridge Mountains I have every seen. Looking out at the breathtaking view, my advisor told us what a wonderful place Washington and Lee is and how many opportunities we will have in the next four years.

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,137 other followers

