Tour Guide Spotlight: Camie Carlock ’13

28 Nov

Camie Carlock ’13

Hometown: Dallas, TX

Major(s)/Minor(s): Politics/Art History & Poverty and Human Capability

What clubs/activities are you involved in on campus? I’m Marshal for Kappa Kappa Gamma and a member of the Standards Committee, a Fundraising Chair and Trustee for Mock Convention, Peer Counselor, work study in the Admissions Office, RUF, training for a half marathon with friends.

How are you involved in the Lexington community? I’m on the Higher Education Ministry at RE Lee Memorial Church, and I currently volunteer two hours each week at Woods Creek Montessori School. I hope to become more involved this fall through more volunteer work in general.

What are some of your other hobbies/interests? Traveling, running, cooking (learning how to), painting, learning how to be a better friend/person in general, making other people happy!

Favorite weekend activity? Dressing up for themed parties, running the Chessie Trail, relaxing with friends.

Favorite thing about Lexington? It is literally the postcard for quaint, picturesque small town America, and it is so safe and cozy nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains.

What’s your favorite W&L memory? Tubing down the Maury River with my best friends last Spring Term.

What’s the best encounter you’ve had with a faculty or staff member? Professor Beckley, head of the Shepherd Poverty Program, is hands down my favorite professor. Last year, I had left the major/minor declaration form in his office, and I stopped by to pick it up. Professor Beckley chatted about my applying for the Shepherd Internship that summer, and then he asked that daunting question, “What do you want to do with your life?” I explained how I’m majoring in Politics and might want to attend Law School, but I also admitted that Law School is my cop-out so it sounds like I have a post-graduation plan. He informed me of Public Policy programs and even dual degree programs with law schools and how that might be the direction I want to steer myself. I was SO relieved to know Politics really is the right major for me, especially hearing it from a faculty member outside of the department. And the best part is, I can incorporate my knowledge and experiences with the Shepherd Poverty Program so that I can continue to do what I love: helping others.

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,137 other followers

